• Today: Sunday 14 Apr 2024

FUFA amends Number of FUFA TV Cup participants

02 April, 2024

The Federation of Uganda Football Association-FUFA has increased the number of entrants for the second edition of its Traditional Secondary Schools Tournament known as the FUFA TV Cup.

The tournament which was initiated last year featured eight traditional secondary schools in its inaugural tournament, distinct from the Uganda Secondary Schools Sports Association Football competition.  These included Kiira College Butiki, Busoga College Mwiri, Jinja College, Namilyango College, Makerere College School, Kings College Buddo, Mengo Senior School, and St Mary's College Kisubi which won it.

According to FUFA President Moses Magogo, after the inauguration of the annual tournament, the organizers received concerns about why they had not included other schools. 

Other schools that have been added include Mbarara SS, Gulu High School, Gombe SS, Kigezi High School, Mvara SSS, Lango College, Dr. Obote College Boroboro, Ntare School, and Sir Samuel Baker among others.

Magogo said that there was a need for a revitalized approach to football endeavors in these traditional schools. He said that while they had a historical prominence in both academia and football, currently there was a lack of top football players emerging from such institutions.